Skip to Main Content

Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th Edition

Guidance on using the Australian Guide to Legal Citation referencing style

Dictionaries

Dictionaries

See AGLC Part III — Secondary Sources > rule 7.6

 

This page shows the Australian Guide to Legal Citation ('AGLC') format for online dictionaries. Refer to AGLC rule 7.6 for the print/hardcopy format.
 

Elements (if viewed online)

Dictionary Title (online at Date of Retrieval) 'entry title' (Definition number)
Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary  (online at 3 July 2024) 'citizen' (def 1).
  • Dictionary title — italicised
  • Date — the date accessed, preceded by 'online at'
  • Entry name — defined term in single quotation marks
  • Definition number is only included if there are multiple definitions.
     

Examples

1 Macquarie Dictionary (online at 3 July 2024) 'university' (def 1).

2 Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 3 July 2024) 'stare decisis'.

Legal encyclopedias

Online legal encyclopedias

See AGLC Part III — Secondary Sources > rule 7.7

 

This page shows the AGLC format for online encyclopedias. Refer to AGLC rule 7.7 for the print/hardcopy format.
 

Elements (if viewed online)

Publisher, Title of Encyclopedia (online at Date of Retrieval) Title Number Title Name, 'Chapter Number Chapter Name' [Paragraph]
LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia  (online at 3 July 2024) 180 Environment, '1 Pollution and Waste' [180-1].
  • Title — italicised
  • Date — the date accessed, preceded by 'online at'
  • Paragraph — should be enclosed in square brackets
  • The publisher is LexisNexis for Halsbury's Laws of Australia (in Lexis Advance) and Westlaw AU for The Laws of Australia (in Westlaw Australia)
  • The 'title number and name' is the first main heading within the encyclopedia that the paragraph falls within (generally an area of law)
  • The 'chapter number and name' is the subheading that the paragraph falls under within the first main heading in the title. Convert Roman numerals to Arabic numerals.

 

Examples

3 LexisNexis, Halsbury’s Laws of Australia (online at 3 July 2024) 130 Criminal Law, ‘1 Principles of Criminal Liability’ [130-40].

4 Westlaw AU, The Laws of Australia (online at 3 July 2024) 33 Torts, '33.2 Negligence' [33.2.230].

© University of Southern Queensland 2025. UniSQ is a member of the Regional Universities Network.
CRICOS: QLD 00244B, NSW 02225M TEQSA: PRV12081 | About site