Use the resources on this page to find information on tort law topics, including personal injury.
Image generated from Simple Word Cloud.
Check legal dictionaries to help with your understanding of unfamiliar terminology and jargon used in the tort law field.
Use legal encyclopedias for brief overviews of tort law concepts, and references to key case law and/or legislative provisions. See the legal encyclopedias section for help with using these products.
Use Library Search to keyword search for books on tort law topics or start with the subject Torts - Australia. Key titles are shown below.
Commentary services (also known as looseleaf or reporters) provide analysis of fields of law, including commentary on key legislative provisions and cases. Access commentary on torts issues in the key law databases; topic coverage varies. Key titles are shown below.
The CCH database contains commentary, case law, legislation, regulatory resources and practical tools on various aspects of tort law. The 'Roadmaps' at the start of CCH commentaries summarise the relevant law, link to more detailed commentary, and may provide an overview of key cases and legislation.
Scholarly law journal articles are authored by legal experts and are grounded in research and theory. They provide in-depth analysis on specialised topics for an academic or professional audience. Use the resources mentioned earlier in this guide to search for journal articles on tort law topics. Key journals are shown below.
Explore torts information in Lexis+ Australia:
Lexis Practical Guidance modules provide guidance notes, commentary practice tips, legislation, legal precedents, cases, tools, forms and checklists etc.
The below guide demonstrates how to navigate and find information in Practical Guidance generally.
Identify key legislative provisions and leading cases using the secondary sources mentioned above.
For help with locating and researching cases see Australian case law earlier in this guide, particularly Cases on a legal issue/topic for strategies to find Australian case law on a specific subject area.
Use the below Westlaw Australia Key Number System headings to browse case law by torts topics. Additional information is also included in some other areas, eg 42 Highways.
The Australian Torts Reports is a specialist tort law report series in the CCH iKnowConnect database, which publishes cases on the following topics:
For general help with locating and researching legislation see Australian legislation earlier in this guide. CCH iKnowConnect contains collections of tort-related legislation, as shown below.
