Skip to Main Content

Law Subject Guide

Find online and print resources for law

Subject searching for case law

Subject searching for Australian case law

 

Start with secondary sources to identify references to leading cases (authorities) for a legal principle or point of law, eg textbooks, casebooks, legal encyclopedias, looseleaf commentary services.  

 

Use the below resources for supplementary Australian case law research on a legal issue or topic. Specialised options are generally available in advanced case search forms/templates and results list filters help refine your search, eg by date, jurisdiction and court.

Westlaw Australia

Westlaw Australia

Westlaw Australia includes a Key Number system that organises case law into browsable topics, as well as various searching options. View included subject-specific law report series using the Content types → Cases → All Cases by Series option.

The Key Numbers system organises cases into topic areas. Either browse the key numbers and sub-topics or search across key numbers to find relevant classifications.

View the Westlaw Australia Guide - How to find cases on a point of law using the Key Number System or the demonstration in the below video.

Key Numbers - Westlaw Australia (Thomson Reuters, 2023) <https://support.thomsonreuters.com.au/product/new-westlaw-australia/video/key-numbers-westlaw-australia-213-min>.

Use search terms and connectors to search for cases in either the global search bar or in the Cases advanced search template (select Content type > All Cases > Advanced), using options like the Synopsis / Digest box.

View the Westlaw Australia Guide - How to research a case by topic using Boolean Terms and Connectors
Enter a question or sentence to find related cases. View the Westlaw Australia Guide - How to research a case by topic using natural language or the demonstration in the below video.

Use Natural Language to Search for Cases in Westlaw Australia (Thomson Reuters, 2023) <https://support.thomsonreuters.com.au/product/new-westlaw-australia/video/use-natural-language-search-cases-westlaw-australia-108-min>.

Lexis Advance

Lexis+ Australia (previously Lexis Advance)

Lexis+ Australia offers various options to locate case law on a legal issue or topic:

  • search using terms and connectors or natural language searching in the main search box
  • use the Advanced Search: AU Cases options to construct a precise search, eg try the Catchwords/Summary box
  • refine search results using filters such as timeline, jurisdiction and/or court. Use the publication filter to view results from subject-specific law report series eg Administrative Law Decisions
  • refer to the Cases with Similar Issues link above relevant cases in the CaseBase view for a list of suggested cases on similar points of law
  • click on Explore > Publications > View All publications on the database entry page and then select the Content > AU Cases to access subject-specific law report series.

CCH IntelliConnect

CCH iKnowConnect

CCH contains unauthorised subject-based collections of case law; some in full-text and others in extract form. Use CCH mainly for cases on: contracts, torts, family law, corporations, health, intellectual property, taxation and industrial law:

  • select a practice area using the briefcase icon on the left, then select cases to browse or search
  • search by keyword and use results list filters for practice area/s and content type > cases
  • CCH commentary also provides references/links to leading cases.

Queensland Judgments website

Queensland Judgments

The Queensland Judgments search menu provides advanced options including searching within catchwords assigned to cases. Use result list filters to refine results by court, date etc. The below video demonstrates how to search for case law.

Optimised, 'Queensland Judgments - Search Guide' (Vimeo, 27 February 2018) <https://vimeo.com/257818839>.

Other resources

Other resources