Home: Law Subject Guide: Key law databases

Key databases

Key law databases

Important: Access all law databases from the UniSQ Library website to ensure your UniSQ login is recognised.

Key law databases are shown below. Most of these are discussed further throughout this guide. See the Websites section for important law websites.

Lexis Advance
Key Australian law database containing a variety of primary and secondary sources.
Westlaw Australia
Key Australian law database containing a variety of primary and secondary sources.
CCH iKnowConnect
Australian subject-based looseleaf commentary services and case law.
ICLR
Key resource for United Kingdom case law.
HeinOnline
Large collection of international law journal articles, historical legal material and other sources.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw Classic
Primary and secondary sources of law from overseas including USA, Canada, UK, EU and selected other jurisdictions.
Lexis Advance US
Primary and secondary sources of law from overseas including USA, Canada, UK, EU and selected other jurisdictions.

Database help

Key law database help guides

LexisNexisAustralia, 'Lexis Advance: Overview' (YouTube, 8 July 2019) <https://youtu.be/n_jYsAS5c-Q>.

NB: ignore the initial 'sign in' instructions as UniSQ students must access this database via the UniSQ Library databases page. A 'Quick Find' pod now also appears on the front page.

Lexis Advance Quick Reference Guide
Brief overview to get started with using this database.
LexisNexis Knowledge Network
Additional user guides and videos are available from the LexisNexis training site.

Select Lexis Advance Research on the welcome screen the first time you access this database. If the database defaults to LexisNexis Practical Guidance or United States (US) content, select Lexis Advance Research from the square grid icon in the top left-hand corner.

Westlaw: Getting Started (Thomson Reuters, 2021) <https://support.thomsonreuters.com.au/product/new-westlaw-australia/video/getting-started-westlaw-australia-605-min>.

Westlaw Australia Training and Support
Access guides, videos, tips and webinars for Westlaw Australia.

CCH iKnowConnect - 8 pro tips for searching
Tips to quickly and efficiently find information in CCH iKnowConnect.
CCH iKnowConnect Search Guide
Help with searching for information in CCH iKnowConnect.
CCH iKnowConnect training and resources
Access a variety of training resources for CCH, including free webinars.

HeinOnline, 'How to Search in HeinOnline' (YouTube, 6 August 2021) <https://youtu.be/lS3jhUw8k28?si=xYhLXcfJykG4Qf_S>.

HeinOnline Knowledge Base
Various user guides, videos and tips for using HeinOnline.
HeinOnline LibGuides
Guides for HeinOnline databases and features.

Photo by UniSQ Photography.

Law Subject Guide

Contact Info

Library contact

Key databases

Key law databases

Database help

Key law database help guides