Home: Publication planning: Tools to use

Tools to use

Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, trusted abstract and citation database.
Quickly find relevant and authoritative research, identify experts and gain access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
Can be used to find and compare journals.

Cross-sector initiative that aims to educate and build trust in credible research and publications.
Includes check lists of what to look for when publishing in journals, books, and book chapters..

Retractions Australia is an online resource dedicated to highlighting data regarding scientific retractions - the removal of published research papers from scientific journals.
This is presented via the Retractions Australia Explorer, which is an interactive tool that allows you to visualise and investigate retracted papers from Australian and New Zealander researchers and collaborators.
Added here to help with checking validity of journals by highlighting possible peer review or journal mis-management.
Check out the information about hijacked journals.

Provides journal/serial/periodical details such as peer review status, ISSN, publisher, content description and indexing databases
Can be searched by subject area in an advanced search
Provides a history of the journal (name changes, ceased operation, link to home page)

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database.
Useful for finding journals and their quartile ranking.

Scopus
An abstract and citation database covering life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences.
Think Check Submit
Identify trusted publishers for your research with a range of tools and practical resources.
Retractions Australia
Retractions Australia is an online resource dedicated to highlighting data regarding scientific retractions. Retractions Australia uses data from Retraction Watch.
Ulrichsweb
Provides journal/serial/periodical details such as peer review status, ISSN, publisher, content description and indexing databases
Highjacked Journal Checker
Hijacked journals mimic legitimate journals by adopting their titles, ISSNs, and other metadata.
Scimagojr.com
A publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database. Journals and country rankings can be compared or analysed separately.