EndNote

Most library databases provide options to export citation information to automatically create references in EndNote. Look for terms such as Export, Direct export, Export to reference manager, Send to Citation Manager, Export to RIS or similar terms. Check the Help menu in the database if required.

Direct Export allows search results from databases to be exported directly to an EndNote library. The process is similar in most databases, but different terms may be used including direct export, export directly to EndNote and export to reference manager. 

1. Open the EndNote library.
2. Go to the Library homepage > Scroll to databases tile > Select relevant alphabetical letter e.g., 'E'.
3. Select database, eg EBSCO, Emerald.
4. Conduct search and select references to save to a marked list or folder. Look for checkboxes, a plus (+) sign, or folder icon to add references to a list.
5. Go to the marked list or folder, and select the references you wish to export. Often can select 'All'.
6. Select Export/Save/Download link - the name varies between databases.
7. Check that the export option is selected to export to EndNote or RIS file 
8. Click Save.

Depending on your browser, the exported file may open automatically in your EndNote Library, or it may sit in the Downloads folder. Double-clicking the file will import the references into your library.

Search results from Google Scholar can be exported to EndNote. To access the export option the settings need to be changed.
Go to Google Scholar

1. Click triple bar Menu icon in top left corner
2. Select the Settings cog
3. Under heading Bibliography Manager, select 'Show links to import citations into EndNote'
4. Click 'Save'. The 'Import into EndNote' link will now appear below each citation.

Exporting Google Scholar record

1. Run search in Google Scholar
2. Click 'Import into EndNote' link below selected citation to export record to EndNote

Exporting multiple records

1. If logged in to your Google account, you can use the star icon to select multiple references
2. Then go to 'My library' at the top right, and choose 'Export all'

Create a reference from previously saved PDF

EndNote can create new references from PDF files which have a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). EndNote completes the required fields and attaches the PDF file to the reference.

If the PDF does not include a DOI, EndNote will create a record, attach the PDF and include just the file name in the Title field. Edit these incomplete records by adding details for author, title of article, publication details etc to create a full reference.

1. Go to File > Import > File OR File > Import > Folder (for a folder of PDFs)
2. Select the individual PDF or the folder of PDFs
3. Set Import Option to PDF > Import (Mac users, click the Options button to the left of the import text box to change the import option to PDF).

Attaching PDFs to existing references

1. Select the required reference
2. In the reference preview pane, click the paperclip (or Attach File on Mac) beside the reference
3. Locate and select the required PDF file. It will attach to the selected reference.

OR
       Open File Explorer (PC) or Finder (Mac), and drag and drop the required PDF onto the relevant reference in the Library

There are two steps for EndNote to look for the full-text PDFs in an EndNote library. EndNote only finds a small number of PDFs using this method. It is often better to find the PDFs using the library databases, save the files to your computer and then attach to the corresponding reference/record in the EndNote library.

Step 1: Setting up

Go to Edit > Preferences on Windows, EndNote > Settings on Mac

1. Open Find Full Text
2. Copy the following string into the OpenURL Path:
    https://usq.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=61UOSQ_INST&vid=61UOSQ_INST:61USQ
3. Copy the following string into the Authenticate with URL: http://ezproxy.usq.edu.au/login
4. Click Apply, then OK (Windows). Click Save (Mac)

Step 2: Finding Full Text for a journal reference

1. Select a reference (or many references)
2. Go to References in the top tool bar > Find Full Text > Find Full Text
3. Log in with your UniSQ username and password
4. When you first log in, you may see a list of UniSQ databases. Click Continue.
5. Click OK to agree to copyright disclaimer
6. A Searching group will appear on the left showing the search status, and how many texts have been found.

EndNote attaches the full text articles to the relevant records. If EndNote cannot download the PDF article, it may provide a URL so you can retrieve the article yourself.