Home: Social Work and Human Services: Search the databases

Key databases

Search the databases

Academic databases are online platforms that contain searchable resources such as journal articles, data sets, and ebooks. Unlike Google or Google Scholar, academic databases organise the resources they contain using structured index terms that you can use to help you build robust and focused searches to find the information you need quickly.

UniSQ Library Search is a great starting point when looking for information for your assignments. For more focused searching, you should use the academic healthcare databases that best suit your search question. For some assignments, you may need to search multiple databases to find the necessary information.

Key databases for social work and human services

APAFT
Provides access to current affairs information in an Australian context.
Informit Families & Society Collection
Focuses on Australia, New Zealand and Asia Pacific to bring together the most authoritative family-related research available to support researchers, policymakers, and community organisations in their work.
Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Includes Australian and global content covering multiple subjects, including social sciences and cultural studies.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Provides the must-have materials for students studying aspects of human behavior and interaction. Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage, and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion, and socio-cultural anthropology.
SAGE Journals: Social sciences & humanities
Coverage includes criminology, family studies, and social work & social policy.
CINAHL Ultimate
A comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health. Coverage includes nursing, speech and language pathology, physiotherapy, nutrition, and general healthcare.
Project Muse
A collection of full-text humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks from over 120 publishers.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
Full-text articles and citations on psychology topics, including emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO
Provided by EBSCO, this database covers psychology and psychological aspects of related healthcare disciplines.

Social Work and Human Services

Contact Info

Library contact

Key databases

Search the databases

Key databases for social work and human services

You can find more databases via UniSQ Library Search.