Social Work and Human Services

Royal Commissions (Cth)

This site holds information relating to recent and historical Royal Commissions as well as a link to current Royal Commissions. 

AustLII Royal Commissions and Public Inquiries Library

Search this section of AustLII for reports of Royal Commissions and Public Inquiries from the Commonwealth and all states and territories dating back to the 1850s.

State governments may also call Royal Commissions and will have the results on their own websites. When searching Google, use the title of a Royal Commission and use the site limit to focus your search. For example, typing site:qld.gov.au. "royal commission" into the search box will retrieve results focusing on Queensland. 

Parliamentary Committees may be formed to investigate a particular issue and provide the community with an avenue to voice their opinions on topical issues or policy. You can browse or search the Parliamentary websites below for Committee documents. 

To search for legislation on a particular topic, try searching on the legislation websites (see first tab) using keywords related to your topic of interest. You can search AustLII (see details below) or find additional legislation databases via UniSQ Library Search.

• AustLII

AustLII is a free-to-search Australian database that covers legislation, case law, journals, and subject-specific collections.

1. Select Advanced Search (toggle the drop-down arrow next to the search box)
2. Select a search method by clicking on the relevant tab, E.g. Boolean Query
3. In the Enter your search box, type in your keyword(s) - e.g. "domestic violence"
4. Under Select the database(s) to search, select Show all (to show all databases in the list)
5. All databases are selected by default, so first deselect all databases by clicking the checkbox at the top of the list
6. Scroll through and select the relevant option from the list, E.g. Commonwealth: All Legislation
7. Click Advanced Search to run the search.