Home: Social Work and Human Services: First Nations resources

Indigenous communities

These resources will support you to deliver culturally safe and inclusive care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

AIATSIS - Indigenous studies bibliography
Includes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies and is produced by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library.
APAIS-ATSIS
APAIS-ATSIS is a subset of the APAIS database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.
AUSThealth
Offering broad scope for critical international engagement and debate surrounding Indigenous culture, health, human geography, and other important aspects, this inter-disciplinary platform gives definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond.
Informit Indigenous Collection.
This collection will benefit a great variety of professionals and researchers involved with Indigenous issues such anthropologists, archaeologists, and people working in government departments, health services, legal services, museums, as well as in Aboriginal land councils and other Indigenous organisations.
LIt.Search
This search tool from the Lowitja Institute provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database.

You can browse additional databases related to First Nations Australia via UniSQ Library.

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Informs best practice and policy for those working in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector.
Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR)
The Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR) is Australia’s foremost social science research body focusing on Indigenous economic and social policy from a national perspective.
Lowitja Institute
Works for the health and well-being of Australia's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people through quality research, knowledge translation, and by supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health researchers.
National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO)
The national leadership body for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health in Australia.
Reconciliation Australia
Reconciliation Australia promotes and facilitates respect, trust, and positive relationships between the wider Australian community and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Wellmob.org
Social, emotional, and cultural wellbeing online resources for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
Queensland Government resources portal for indigenous people.
AIHW: First Nations people
Health statistics relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
Healthdirect: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ health
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health information from the Australian government health portal.
Indigenous.Gov.au
Designed to connect Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with Australian Government policies and programs and raise awareness about the initiatives that affect First Nations individuals and communities across Australia.
Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council (QAIHC)
Body responsible for managing and commissioning research, as well as collecting, analysing, and publishing data, to maintain cultural safety and improve healthcare delivery and outcomes.
Queensland Health: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health
Queensland government department that works in partnership with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to develop and implement strategies, programs, and initiatives to improve health and wellbeing.