Skip to Main Content

Speech pathology

Tricky health references

Specialist health information sources

This guide provides guidance on citing specialist health information sources in APA 7 referencing style. 

For general guidance on using APA 7 referencing style to cite information sources in your assignments, visit the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide. 

Please note that APA 7 requires that double spacing and hanging indents to be included in your formatted reference list. If you are unsure of how to format your Word document, refer to your assignment task sheet or Formatting the reference list in the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide.

Referencing specialist health information resources

MIMS Online 

Elements of the reference

Title of entry. (Year). In Title of source.  Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL of the source homepage

Parenthetical in-text citation 

("Panamax Co", 2024) 

Narrative in-text citation

...as noted in "Panamax Co" (2024).

Reference list

Panamax Co. (2024). In MIMS Online. Retrieved December 21, 2024 from

      https://www.mimsonline.com.au
Notes:

  • As access to this database is subscription-based, you cannot assume everyone has access to it. Therefore, you should only include the database's homepage URL at the end of the reference.

  • If available, use the latest revision date as the year. If no update information is provided, use "n.d." in place of the year. See the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide - Chapter 3: Variations for additional guidance.

  • This resource is updated throughout the year, and its content may change, so you should include a retrieval date.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 

Elements of the reference

Author(s). (Year). Title of review. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. DOI

Parenthetical in-text citation

(Showell et al., 2024)

Narrative in-text citation

Showell et al. (2024) argued...

Reference list

Showell, M. G., Cole, S., Clarke, M. J., DeVito, N. J., Farquhar, C., & Jordan, V. (2024). Time to

      publication for results of clinical trials. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 

      https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.MR000011.pub3
Notes:

 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare [AIHW] 

Elements of the reference

Author. (Year). Title of work. (Report No. - if available). Publisher Name. URL

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (Australian Institute of Health and Welfare [AIHW], 2022)

Subsequent use: (AIHW, 2022)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW, 2022) records...

Subsequent use: Data on this collected by the AIHW (2022) suggests...

Reference list

Australian Institue of Health and Welfare. (2024). People with disability in Australia 2024. (Cat.

       No. DIS 72). Australian Government. https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/disability/people-

       with-disability-in-australia
Notes:

  • Group or organisation authors may be abbreviated as part of an in-text citation, but you must use the full name in the reference list.

  • Not all documents downloaded from the AIHW will have catalogue numbers. Only include the number if it is available. See the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide - Chapter 3: Variations for additional guidance.

  • If the publisher's name is the same as the author, do not include the publisher's name.

Codes of conduct/ethics/standards

Elements of the reference

Author or Group Author. (Year). Document title: Subtitle. URL

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2018) 

Subsequent use: (NMBA, 2018)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA, 2018) states...

Subsequent use: The NMBA (2018) states...

Reference list

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2018). Code of conduct for nurses.

      https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-Guidelines-Statements/

      Professional-standards.aspx
Notes:

Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)

Elements of the reference

Title of entry. (Year). In Title of source.  Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL of the source homepage

Parenthetical in-text citation

("Codeine", 2024)

Narrative in-text citation

...listed in "Codeine" (2024).

Reference list

Codeine. (2024). In Australian Medicines Handbook. Retrieved December 15, 2024

       from https://amhonline.amh.net.au/auth
Notes:

  • As access to this database is subscription-based, you cannot assume everyone has access to it. Therefore, you should only include the database's homepage URL at the end of the reference.

  • Add double quotation marks around the title.

  • This resource is updated throughout the year, and its content may change, so you should include a retrieval date.

AusDI 

Elements of the reference

Title of entry. (Year). In Title of source.  Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL of the source homepage

Parenthetical in-text citation

("Paracetamol", 2023).

Narrative in-text citation

"Paracetamol" (2023) states...

Reference list

Paracetamol. (2023). In AusDi. Retrieved July 15, 2023 from www.ausdi.com
Notes:

  • As access to this database is subscription-based, you cannot assume everyone has access to it. Therefore, you should only include the database's homepage URL at the end of the reference.

  • If available, use the latest revision date as the year. If no update information is provided, use "n.d." in place of the year. See the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide - Chapter 3: Variations for additional guidance.

  • Include a retrieval date since this resource is updated throughout the year, and its content may change.

ClinicalKey (ebook)

Elements of the reference

Author. (Year). Title of work. Publisher. 

Parenthetical in-text citation

(Jayasinghe, 2012)

Narrative in-text citation

Pollard (2012) suggested...

Reference list

Jayasinghe, R. (2012). ECG workbook. Elsevier. 
Notes:

ClinicalKey (chapter in an edited ebook)

Elements of the reference

Author. A. A. (Year). Title of chapter. In A. A. Author (Eds.), Title of book. Publisher.

Parenthetical in-text citation

(Duke & Bernsten, 2019)

Narrative in-text citation

Duke and Bernsten (2019) suggest ...

Reference list

Duke, G. J., & Bernsten, A. D. (2019). Non-invasive ventilation. In A. D. Bernsten & J. M. Handy (Eds.), Oh's intensive care manual (8th ed., pp. 483-491). Elsevier.
Notes:

ClinicalKey (electronic journal article)

Elements of the reference

Author. (Year). Title of work. Title of journal, volume(issue), pages. DOI

Parenthetical in-text citation

(Cotton et al., 2020)

Narrative in-text citation

Cotton et al. (2020) suggested...

Reference list

Cotton, S., Zawaydeh, Q., LeBlanc, S., Husain, A., & Malhotra, A. (2020). Proning during

      covid-19: Challenges and solutions. Heart & Lung, 49(6), 686-

      687. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.hrtlng.2020.08.006 
Notes:
  • You should be able to find the DOI in the PDF of the article. If there is no DOI and the online journal article is accessible outside of ClinicalKey without having to login, then include the URL instead. If you cannot find either a DOI or URL that allows readers to freely access the article, then you should treat the resource like a print article. 
  • For additional guidance on referencing online texts, use the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide - Chapter 4: Books, journal articles, newspaper articles.

ClinicalKey (clinical overview or patient education)

Elements of the reference

Author. (Year). Title of entry. ClinicalKey. Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL

Parenthetical in-text citation

(Amos, 2023)

Narrative in-text citation

Amos (2023) suggested...

Reference list

Amos, L. (2023, May 17). Acute cough in children. ClinicalKey. Retrieved December

      18, 2024, from www.clinical key.com.au
Notes:
  • This format applies only when referencing a clinical overview or patient education information from ClinicalKey. 
  • Use the date of the last update as the year of publication and include a retrieval date, as this resource is continually updated.

DSM-5-TR (access via UniSQ Library)

Elements of the reference

Author. (Year). Title of manual (# ed.). Publisher name. DOI

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (American Psychiatric Association, 2022)

Subsequent use: (APA, 2022)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: ...as set out by the American Psychiatric Association (2022) 

Subsequent use: The APA (2022) determined...

Reference list

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental

      disorders (5th ed., text rev.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596
Notes:

A chapter from the DSM-5-TR 

Elements of the reference

Author. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In Title of manual (# ed.). DOI 

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (American Psychiatric Association [APA], 2022)

Subsequent use: (APA, 2022)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: ...regulated by the American Psychiatric Association (APA, 2022).

Subsequent use: The APA (2022) regulates...

Reference List

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Sleep-wake disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical

      manual of mental disorders (5th ed., text rev.).

      https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425787.x12_Sleep-Wake_Disorders
Notes:

Group authors may be abbreviated as part of an in-text citation, but you must use the full name in the reference list.

Statpearls

Elements of the reference

Chapter author(s). (Year). Title of chapter. In A. Editor, B. Editor, (Eds.). Title of work. Publisher. Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL

Parenthetical in-text citation

(Surmaitis & Hamilton, 2023)

Narrative in-text citation

Surmaitis and Hamilton (2023) demonstrated....

Reference list

Surmaitis, R. & Hamilton, R. J. (2023). Ackee fruit toxicity. In W. B. Ackley, T. S. Adolphe, T. C. Aeby,

      N. R. Aeddula, S. Agadi, P. Agasthi, S. Ahmad, A. Ahmed, F. W. Ahmed, I. Ahmed, R. A. Ahmed,

      S. W. Ahmed, A. M Akanmode, R. Akella, S. M. Akram, Y. Al Khalili, E. Al Zaabi, M. H. Alahmadi,

      G. Alexander, ... H. Zulfiqar (Eds.), StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing.  Retrieved

      December 15, 2024 from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK431101/
Notes:
  • Follow the format for a chapter in an edited book.
  • Use the date of the last update as the year of publication and include a retrieval date, as this resource is continually updated. 
  • There are over 21 editors in this resource. Include the first 19 editors or authors, add an ellipsis (...), then add only the final author after that. The ellipsis shows that some editors or authors have been omitted from the reference. For additional guidance on citing multiple authors, use the UniSQ APA 7 referencing guide - Chapter 2 Variations in authors/creators.

Guidelines

Elements of the reference   

Author/Organisation. (Year). Title of guideline (Guideline no. if applicable.). URL

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (Australasian College of Emergency Medicine [ACEM], 2023)

Subsequent use: (ACEM, 2023)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: The Australasian College of Emergency Medicine (ACEM, 2023) established...

Subsequent use: ACEM (2023) established...

Reference list

Australasian College of Emergency Medicine. (2023). Guidelines on the implementation of

      the Australian Triage Scale in emergency departments. https://acem.org.au/getmedia/

      51dc74f7-9ff0-42ce-872a-0437f3db640a/G24_04_Guidelines_on_Implementation_of

      _ATS_Jul-16.aspx 
Notes:
  • Guidelines may be written by individual authors or corporate/group authors. 
  • If there is a guideline number, you should include this. If no number is available, you can omit this.
  • Most clinical practice guidelines are published as reports or webpages, so you should use the structure for those reference types.

Queensland Clinical Guidelines

Elements of the reference   

Author/Organisation. (Year). Title of guideline (Guideline no. if applicable.). URL

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (Queensland Clinical Guidelines [QCG], 2020)

Subsequent use: (QCG, 2020)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: Queensland Clinical Guidelines (QCG, 2020) suggests...

Subsequent use: QCG (2020) suggest that...

Reference list

Queensland Clinical Guidelines. (2020, June). Preterm labour and birth (Guideline No.

      MN20.6-V10-R25). Queensland Health. https://www.health.qld.gov.au/qcg/publications
Notes:
  • Guidelines may be written by individual authors or corporate/group authors. 
  • If there is a guideline number, you should include this. If no number is available, you can omit this.
  • Most clinical practice guidelines are published as reports or webpages, so you should use the structure for those reference types.

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD)

Elements of the reference

Organisational author. (Year). Title of work (ed.). URL 

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (World Health Organization [WHO], 2019)

Subsequent use: (WHO, 2019)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: ...as agreed by the World Health Organization (WHO, 2019).

Subsequent use: ...as agreed by the WHO (2019).

Reference list

World Health Organization. (2019). International statistics classification of diseases and

      related health problems (11th ed.). https://icd.who.int/ 

Citing an entry in the ICD

Elements of the reference

Organisational author. (Year). Code Title of entry. In Title of work (ed.). URL 

Parenthetical in-text citation

First use: (World Health Organization [WHO], 2019)

Subsequent use: (WHO, 2019)

Narrative in-text citation

First use: ...as agreed by the World Health Organization (WHO, 2019).

Subsequent use: ...as agreed by the WHO (2019).

Reference list

World Health Organization. (2019). QE84 Acute stress reaction. In International statistical

      classification of diseases and related health problems (11th ed.).

      https://icd.who.int/browse/2025-01/mms/en#505909942