Introduction to the Library

Using UniSQ Library Search

You can find most Library resources, including print books, eBooks, and full text journal articles by using the Library Search tool on the Library homepage. Library Search allows you to search:

• Everything, including print and electronic books and journals AND inside some Library databases
• Curriculum, or a collection of books, toys, games, and other resources for Education students
• Library Catalogue, including print and electronic books and journals but NOT inside databases

Course textbooks and readings

The Library provides electronic (eBook) versions of course textbooks where possible. Some course textbooks may be available in print format for short-term loan.

To access course textbooks and/or readings:

• use the left-hand Course Readings menu item on your course StudyDesk site (as shown below)
• search by textbook title in Library Search

The Library website has more advice on accessing course textbooks.

Finding specialised resources

For specialised information like case law and legislation, company information, and standards you will need to search the databases. Finding and using databases shows you how to do this. 

Finding newspaper articles and setting up alerts

Newspapers provide current information on events locally and globally. They can be useful in research as primary source material and secondary resources depending on the time period and context.

• Access available newspaper articles through the Library databases > newspapers.
• Find out how to search for specific newspapers.

ProQuest Global Newsstream Collection contains popular Australian newspapers such as The Australian and The Courier Mail.

EBSCO contains a lot of popular and regional Australian newspapers such as The Australian Financial Review and the Illawarra Mercury. 

Alerts or RSS feeds

Databases and publishers often have alert or RSS feed services. They can be helpful to stay current on the latest research in your field, or on specific research topics.

There are a few different kinds of alerts you can set up. 

1. Journal (table of contents)- provides table of contents of newly released journal (newspaper) issues or you can set it up to receive a select number from the contents page e.g. first 5 articles. 

2. Author citation - you are notified when a paper published by the selected author is cited.

3. Document citation - you are notified when a newly loaded document cites your selected document.

4. Search - lets you know when a book or article that matches your search terms is published

Alerts are typically delivered to you by email or RSS feeds periodically (daily, weekly, monthly) 

• Click here for a tutorial on how to set up search or journal (newspaper) alerts in EBSCO 
• Click here to find out How to Set Up RSS Feeds in ProQuest.
• Click here to find out How to Add RSS Feed to Outlook

Finding information tutorials

For more help with finding information, see the Library's Study and Research Toolkit. This contains various resources for finding information including:

• Library Search help
• Creating a winning search strategy
• Google advanced search
• Information sources at university
• Finding and using databases
• Evaluating research resources
• Finding your course readings.